Depositly alternative: Balance Due vs Depositly for Shopify deposits
Depositly, listed on the Shopify App Store as DP: Deposit & Partial Payments, launched in July 2026 with a free plan and group payments. Both apps take deposits and charge the balance from the saved card; the differences are in pricing as you grow, group payments and what happens after checkout.
In short: Depositly and Balance Due both take a deposit at Shopify checkout and charge the balance later from the saved card, and both have a free plan. Depositly adds group payments, pay-in-full discounts and marketing integrations, with a usage fee on its Pro plan above $5,000 a month. Balance Due adds an automatic fulfilment hold, a set retry and overdue process, and flat GBP pricing.
The short version
Depositly is listed on the Shopify App Store as DP: Deposit & Partial Payments and launched in July 2026. As of September 2026 it offers a Free plan and a Pro plan at $15 a month plus $3 per $1,000 of deposit and split-payment value above $5,000, capped at $299 a month. It covers percentage and fixed deposits, automatic balance collection, instalments and group payments by emailed invoice, reminders, pay-in-full discounts, badges and a customer portal. Balance Due has a Free plan and three flat paid tiers in GBP, and focuses on what happens after checkout: the fulfilment hold, retries with pay links, an overdue flag and merchant alerts.
What each costs as you grow
On Depositly Pro, a store processing $20,000 a month in deposit and split payments pays about $60 a month ($15 plus 15 × $3), and one processing $50,000 pays about $150. The fee stops rising at $299 a month. Balance Due's price depends on how many orders have an open balance at once, not on order value: £19.99 for up to 30, £49.99 for up to 300 and £99.99 for unlimited, with no usage fee. Smaller stores are likely to pay less on Depositly; high-value stores with fewer, larger orders are likely to pay less on Balance Due.
Side by side
| Feature | Balance Due | Depositly |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Flat monthly in GBP, £0 to £99.99 | Free, or Pro at $15 a month plus $3 per $1,000 above $5,000 (capped at $299), billed in USD |
| Free plan | Yes, up to 3 open payment plans | Yes, no volume limit stated on its listing |
| Deposit type | Percentage or fixed amount | Percentage or fixed amount |
| When the balance is due | Days after the order, an exact date, when the order is ready | A date, days after checkout, or on fulfilment |
| Automatic balance charge from the saved card | Yes, on Shopify Payments and PayPal Express | Yes |
| Failed-payment retries | After 1, 3 and 7 days, with a pay link each time | Yes, per its listing |
| Overdue flag and merchant alert | Yes | Not stated on its listing |
| Instalments | Charged from the saved card, on Shopify Plus stores (Growth and Pro) | Pay over time via emailed invoices |
| Group or shared payments | No | Yes, via emailed invoices |
| Pay-in-full discounts and badges | No | Yes |
| Fulfilment hold until paid | Shopify's own hold, automatic | Not stated on its listing |
| Marketing integrations | No | Shopify Flow, Klaviyo and Mailchimp |
| App Store status | Early access | Launched July 2026, rated 5.0 from 16 reviews |
Depositly details are taken from its Shopify App Store listing (DP: Deposit & Partial Payments) as of 20 September 2026. Pricing and features change, so check the listing before deciding.
When Depositly is the better fit
- You need one order paid by several people.
- You want pay-in-full discounts, deposit badges or quantity caps.
- You use Klaviyo, Mailchimp or Shopify Flow and want payment events there.
- Your monthly deposit volume is low and its Free plan covers you.
When Balance Due is the better fit
- You ship physical goods and need the fulfilment hold to be automatic and native.
- You want a defined retry and overdue process with the merchant alerted.
- You are on Shopify Plus and want instalments charged from the saved card rather than invoiced.
- You sell high-value orders and want a flat price that does not grow with order value.
- You want UK support and GBP billing.
Questions
Both have free plans. What is the catch?
Balance Due's Free plan is limited to 3 orders with an open balance at any time and carries a small branding line on customer emails. Everything else, including automatic collection and holds, is included.
Can I run both to test?
Only one app should attach purchase options to a given product; test them on different products or a dev store.
Try it on a test order
The fastest comparison is a deposit order on your own dev store with Shopify's test gateway.