Depositly alternative: Balance Due vs Depositly for Shopify deposits

Depositly, listed on the Shopify App Store as DP: Deposit & Partial Payments, launched in July 2026 with a free plan and group payments. Both apps take deposits and charge the balance from the saved card; the differences are in pricing as you grow, group payments and what happens after checkout.

In short: Depositly and Balance Due both take a deposit at Shopify checkout and charge the balance later from the saved card, and both have a free plan. Depositly adds group payments, pay-in-full discounts and marketing integrations, with a usage fee on its Pro plan above $5,000 a month. Balance Due adds an automatic fulfilment hold, a set retry and overdue process, and flat GBP pricing.

The short version

Depositly is listed on the Shopify App Store as DP: Deposit & Partial Payments and launched in July 2026. As of September 2026 it offers a Free plan and a Pro plan at $15 a month plus $3 per $1,000 of deposit and split-payment value above $5,000, capped at $299 a month. It covers percentage and fixed deposits, automatic balance collection, instalments and group payments by emailed invoice, reminders, pay-in-full discounts, badges and a customer portal. Balance Due has a Free plan and three flat paid tiers in GBP, and focuses on what happens after checkout: the fulfilment hold, retries with pay links, an overdue flag and merchant alerts.

What each costs as you grow

On Depositly Pro, a store processing $20,000 a month in deposit and split payments pays about $60 a month ($15 plus 15 × $3), and one processing $50,000 pays about $150. The fee stops rising at $299 a month. Balance Due's price depends on how many orders have an open balance at once, not on order value: £19.99 for up to 30, £49.99 for up to 300 and £99.99 for unlimited, with no usage fee. Smaller stores are likely to pay less on Depositly; high-value stores with fewer, larger orders are likely to pay less on Balance Due.

Side by side

FeatureBalance DueDepositly
PricingFlat monthly in GBP, £0 to £99.99Free, or Pro at $15 a month plus $3 per $1,000 above $5,000 (capped at $299), billed in USD
Free planYes, up to 3 open payment plansYes, no volume limit stated on its listing
Deposit typePercentage or fixed amountPercentage or fixed amount
When the balance is dueDays after the order, an exact date, when the order is readyA date, days after checkout, or on fulfilment
Automatic balance charge from the saved cardYes, on Shopify Payments and PayPal ExpressYes
Failed-payment retriesAfter 1, 3 and 7 days, with a pay link each timeYes, per its listing
Overdue flag and merchant alertYesNot stated on its listing
InstalmentsCharged from the saved card, on Shopify Plus stores (Growth and Pro)Pay over time via emailed invoices
Group or shared paymentsNoYes, via emailed invoices
Pay-in-full discounts and badgesNoYes
Fulfilment hold until paidShopify's own hold, automaticNot stated on its listing
Marketing integrationsNoShopify Flow, Klaviyo and Mailchimp
App Store statusEarly accessLaunched July 2026, rated 5.0 from 16 reviews

Depositly details are taken from its Shopify App Store listing (DP: Deposit & Partial Payments) as of 20 September 2026. Pricing and features change, so check the listing before deciding.

When Depositly is the better fit

  • You need one order paid by several people.
  • You want pay-in-full discounts, deposit badges or quantity caps.
  • You use Klaviyo, Mailchimp or Shopify Flow and want payment events there.
  • Your monthly deposit volume is low and its Free plan covers you.

When Balance Due is the better fit

  • You ship physical goods and need the fulfilment hold to be automatic and native.
  • You want a defined retry and overdue process with the merchant alerted.
  • You are on Shopify Plus and want instalments charged from the saved card rather than invoiced.
  • You sell high-value orders and want a flat price that does not grow with order value.
  • You want UK support and GBP billing.

Questions

Both have free plans. What is the catch?

Balance Due's Free plan is limited to 3 orders with an open balance at any time and carries a small branding line on customer emails. Everything else, including automatic collection and holds, is included.

Can I run both to test?

Only one app should attach purchase options to a given product; test them on different products or a dev store.

Try it on a test order

The fastest comparison is a deposit order on your own dev store with Shopify's test gateway.